Keto Waffles

Each week, I plan on adding a few of my favorite Keto friendly recipes to my little corner of the blogosphere. I love to cook almost as much as I love to eat…and being Keto hasn’t changed that! So I will share all kinds of recipes here.  Everything from super easy “take-to-work” lunches to more elaborate “company-is-coming” dinners!

Breakfast is a big deal in our house! We love our big weekend breakfasts, which before Keto included all kinds of carb-filled foods like waffles, pancakes and biscuits and gravy (don’t worry, I’ll be sharing an awesome Keto B&G recipe soon). When we first started Keto eating, we were content with bacon and eggs for our weekend breakfasts, but after a while we really started missing our old big breakfasts.  So I started doing my Keto recipe research and started experimenting!  I probably tried 4 or 5 waffle recipes, before I landed on this one as my favorite.  I tried almond flour, coconut flour, crushed pork rinds…you name it.  But they all had a weird texture that I just couldn’t get past!

So, I started looking at other recipes and found the infamous  Cream Cheese Pancakes.  I HATE Cream Cheese Pancakes, by the way.  But one day on whim and out of my sheer desperation to find a low carb waffle that I could enjoy, I decided to mix up a batch of cream cheese pancake “dough” and through it in my waffle maker. “Haaaaleluujaaaaah” (cue harp music and rays of light shining down from the heavens)

It was about as perfect as you can get without carbs.  Somehow, it cooks differently and the texture is so much better than the pancake version!  They aren’t exactly the crispy waffle we know and love.  But they are good.  And hint: after taking them out of the waffle iron, put them in the toaster for a minute and they will crisp up a little bit! They also hold up okay in the fridge for a few days.  So if you are like me and like to make a bigger batch while you have the waffle iron out and are making a mess…these work pretty well for that!  They can be re-warmed in the microwave, toaster or toaster oven pretty easily!


Keto Waffles

Ingredients:

2 ounces of cream cheese
2 eggsPinch of baking powder
Cinnamon & Vanilla extract to taste
Olive oil baking spray
Grassfed butter and Sugar free syrup


Directions:

Preheat waffle iron.  While iron is pre-heating, place first four ingredients into a blender or food processer. Pulse to mix well.  Let sit while iron is pre-heating.  Once waffle maker is hot, spray with olive oil spray, then pour egg mixture onto hot waffle maker.  Close lid and cook for at least 5 minutes.  Open and pull waffle out with tongs!  Melt a little Kerrygold butter on top and pour some sugar free syrup on and OMG!  Heaven! Makes 1 Belgium size waffle.

Macros for one batch: 343 calories, 29.5 grams of fat, 16.6 grams of protein, 4.7 grams of carbs  Adding toppings such as butter or sugar free syrup will add to these totals!

One thought on “Keto Waffles

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Mondays | Oh.hello.keto

Leave a Reply

