Keto Double Chocolate Brownies

brownie

I am a total sucker for Hallmark movies.  I worked the night shift over the weekend, and now have 4 glorious days off.  So, to kick off my mini vacation, I spent the day watching Hannah Swensen mysteries on the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.  I’ve read the books and should have known that they revolved around baking and that watching these movies would make me want to bake!  So, I figured why fight it!  Tomorrow is our 6 month Keto anniversary, so why not celebrate with a Ketogenic treat!

To be honest, I haven’t done much dessert baking since starting the Ketogenic Diet.  If I indulge in dessert, I usually just pop a mug cake into the microwave or have a serving of Halo Top Ice Cream.  But today, I thought I would get adventurous! So I broke out my favorite ketogenic cookbook, Butter and Bacon, and based on the ingredients I had on hand, I decided on baking some Keto brownies!

Start by gathering ingredients:

3/4 cup almond flour1/2 cup sugar substitute3 Tbsp. cocoa powder1/2 tsp baking powder1/4 tsp salt4 Tbsp. butter3 eggs1 tsp vanilla extract1/4 cup crumbled dark chocolate (I was missing this, so I omitted it)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the almond flour, sugar substitute, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Whisk to combine. In a medium bowl, whisk together the butter, eggs and vanilla.  Add the butter mixture to the almond flour and stir to combine.  Incorporate the dark chocolate into the batter.  Transfer the batter in to a greased 8 inch square pan.  Place the pan into a preheated oven and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove pan and cool brownies for at least 5 minutes before cutting into 8 pieces.

 

brownie81.jpg

Sprinkle with a little confectioner’s Swerve for a pretty look and added sweetness!

These brownies totally hit the spot!  They are not overly sweet, but they are deliciously chocolatey.  They would pair well with a serving of Halo Top or topped with a Keto-friendly cream cheese frosting! The macros are pretty darn good and the serving size is generous!

brownie11.jpg

 

One thought on “Keto Double Chocolate Brownies

  1. Pingback: Today marks our 6 month Keto anniversary! | Oh.hello.keto

Leave a Reply

