One Pot Zuppa Toscana Soup – Comfort Food Ketofied

20170421_093907.jpg

I have been so miserably sick this week!  I haven’t been sick since I very first started Keto last fall.  I made it though the winter without getting sick, which is a miracle.   I honestly attribute my recent wellness to eating Keto.  I’m an X-ray/CT Tech and work in both a Hospital and Immediate Care Clinics, so I am exposed to just about every germ that goes around!  Last weekend the Hubby and I ate off plan for Easter weekend (it was planned ahead of time, we enjoyed a meal with family and some of our favorite meals & restaurants that we haven’t been able to have since going Keto) and BAM!  I got sick!  I don’t think it is a coincidence.  I think my diet has played a huge role in how easily my body has been able to protect me from illness over the past six months.

So, I have been down for the count the past few days.  I try to avoid taking over the counter cold meds when I can, because I believe they hinder the bodies natural healing processes.  Plus, many of the cold medications contain boatloads of carbs, and we don’t need those! What I didn’t expect when I got sick were the carb cravings!  Carb cravings hit me like a ton of bricks!  I think because I feel so lethargic and am lacking energy, my body is screaming at me to give it easily accessible fuel (i.e. carbs) to perk me up and give me instant energy.  So, I’ve turned to some of my favorite Keto comfort foods to get me through!

I love soup, especially when I’m sick.  So I picked one of my favorites and made a big batch of it this morning (and I ate it for breakfast…no judgement)!  Zuppa Toscana was one of my favorite soups pre-Keto and it was extremely easy to Ketofy!  It is so simple and quick to make with only a handful of ingredients!  It’s hard to believe that this soup can pack in so much flavor with just 7 ingredients!

I’ve seen many recipes that call for cauliflower in place of potatoes, but we eat sooooooooo much cauliflower, that in this recipe I just omitted it all together and don’t feel like I’m missing anything!  I also HATE kale.  HATE IT!  To me, it has a weird bitter taste, even when cooked.  So, I use spinach in this soup.  I feel it has a much milder flavor, plus I always have spinach on hand, so I don’t need to buy anything special to make it!

I also love this recipe because it can all be done in one pot!  And since I’m the one stuck doing the cooking and cleaning even when I’m sick  (the plight of all mother’s out there), I love the fact that I only have to wash one pot!  Hooray!

Keto Zuppa Toscana Soup

20170421_085803.jpg

Ingredients:

1/2 pound bacon1 package sausage2 small onions (or 1 large)3 cloves of garlic32 ounces chicken broth (homemade bone broth works great too!)1 1/2 cups Heavy Whippping Cream4 cups spinach (or kale, if you want to be traditional about it)

Let’s Make It:

Chop half a pound of bacon into small pieces and throw it into the hot stock pot.  Brown bacon until crispy.  Once crispy, add garlic and onions and sweat until onions start to become a little translucent.  Add sausage to pot and cook until all the sausage is browned. Usually takes about 5 minutes.

 

Once the sausage is browned, add chicken broth (or bone broth, or combo of both).  Simmer for a few minutes, then add Heavy Whipping Cream.  Once warmed, add spinach and cook for about 5 minutes, to cook down spinach.  And that’s it…your done!  Go enjoy your soup!

This soup is super flavorful as it is.  However, you can add in a few things if you like!  Sprinkle with a little parmesean cheese or add some Cello Whisps on top for some extra flavor and texture!  It also goes great with a side of Fathead breadstick or keto biscuits!

20170421_093832.jpg

One thought on “One Pot Zuppa Toscana Soup – Comfort Food Ketofied

Leave a Reply

