Sugar Free Peanut Butter Cookies

20170421_162408.jpg

Peanut butter cookies have always been a go-to in our house for a quick, easy dessert that everyone loves.  My favorite recipe pre-keto was simple; just sugar, peanut butter and egg.  So I thought, why can’t I do the same with a sugar substitute?

So, to the internet I went.  I found tons of variations on this recipe.  I tried a few and came up with this variation:

Ingredients:

1 cup peanut butter (see note below)
1/2 cup confectioners Swerve
1 egg

Let’s Make It:

Pre-heat the oven to 375°.  Mix all three ingredients and roll into 12 equal sizes balls.  Place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Use a fork to “squish” into cookie shape.  Bake for 10-13 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack. Enjoy with a glass of your favorite low carb nut milk!  Both my Hubby and I thought it paired really well with unsweetened almond milk.  The flavors just really complimented each other nicely!  These cookies start off really soft.  I stored them in a Tupperware container and they “crisped” up a little bit overnight.  Which was great for me, because I like my peanut butter cookies with just a little crunch!

***A note on peanut butter:

Not all peanut butter is created equal. Some Keto’ers will scold me for eating peanuts or peanut butter at all (since they technically are a legume and not a nut), but that is my choice.  I eat peanuts/peanut butter seldomly and I choose wisely.  You can swap out with almond butter, it will change the flavor, but they will still be tasty!

Most peanut butters contain added sugar.  So label reading is a must.  I always choose a no sugar added peanut butter,  my favorite being from Trader Joe’s.  But even better than that, my local Hyvee grocery store has a grinder that allows you to grind up your own peanuts or almonds into a delicious fresh nut butter. It’s a great option, because then you know there are no unseen additives!

20170420_104454.jpg

Leave a Reply

