Chicken Pot Pie – Keto Comfort Food Series

We all know we find comfort in food.  It’s been proven time and time again that psychology plays a huge role in how we eat.  The hubby and I have had years and years of choosing comfort foods over heathy foods. Which is how we found ourselves overweight and out of shape!  I think that is part of the reason we love the Ketogenic diet so much.  It allows us to still choose foods that feel like hearty, comfort foods, but still allow us to reach our optimum health goals. Which we are getting closer and closer to each day! (maybe one of these days, I’ll have to feature our Keto transformations on this blog…for now, you can find mine on Instagram, if you’re interested).

Normally, our diet consists mainly of meats, fats and veggies.  It makes life easy and cooking simple.  Choose a meat, add a fat source and a veggie; DONE!  But sometimes, comfort foods call your name.  A few weeks ago, my younger son and I got knocked down with a nasty respiratory thing.  Well, now my oldest two (the hubby being included in that) have it.  And as much as I love my husband, he is the biggest child of them all when he gets sick (he claims to read my blog…we’ll see if he really does).  And I know he’s not unique…they don’t call colds the “man flu” for nothing!

When you’re sick, there is nothing like comfort foods to help make you feel better.  And when your “dieting” (although, we don’t like to use that word around here), you often feel like those foods are off limits.  However, with a little experimentation, you can find and create Keto versions of your favorite comfort foods!  I also made, at the hubby’s request, some Keto friendly chicken soup yesterday, and will be posting some soup recipes soon!  But for now, enjoy this amazing Keto friendly Chicken Pot Pie!

I’m often stuck cooking even when I’m the sick one.  So I try to keep my Keto Comfort Foods as simple as I can.  This version of Pot Pie uses store bought alfredo sauce for the pie filling, but you could certainly create your own Keto friendly sauce.  Alfredo sauce is actually extremely easy to make with Heavy Whipping cream, parmesan cheese and a few other ingredients. But to make life simple, and since alfredo is relatively low carb anyways, I just used jarred sauce!

Ingredients:

1 recipe of Fathead dough
1 pound chicken thighs, diced
1 can of green beans
1 jar of alfredo sauce
1 cup shredded cheese

Let’s Do This:

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F.  Make fathead dough and divide in half.  I used Colby jack for my dough this time and it make less than when I use mozzarella, which is really weird.  When it melted, it shrank, a lot.  Normally, half the dough will make enough to go all the way up the sides of a 9″ square pan! But honestly, it didn’t seem to matter that it didn’t make it all the way up the sides and the Colby jack gave it a nice flavor.  Take half the dough and roll it out into a square and press into the bottom of a greased 9″ square pan.  Pop into the oven for 8-10 minutes, just to start the cooking process.

While the bottom crust is in the oven, fully cook diced chicken thighs in a skillet.  I highly recommend chicken thighs over breast, because it adds an element of fat, but also adds flavor that you won’t get with white meat!  Once the chicken is cooked, add green beans (and whatever other keto friendly veggies you’d like…green beans are all I had, so that is what went in!) and alfredo sauce and warm through.

Once the bottom crust is browned, remove from oven and add filling to pan and layer with a cup of cheese.

Roll out the other half of the fathead dough recipe into a square and place on top of the mixture and into the pan.  I poked a few holes in the top, just to allow steam to escape, but it wasn’t really necessary since I didn’t seal the edges of the dough all the way!

Pop into the oven for another 10-15 minutes, just until the top crust starts to brown.  Slice up and serve hot! (PSA: it comes out REALLY HOT!  It is baseball season here, so dinners are shoved into our faces between running boys to games and practices.  When this came out of the oven, we had about 10 minutes to eat and get one boy to practice on one side of town and the other to a game on the other side of town. Not gonna lie…there were some burnt tongues around here. So be careful!)

20170509_171636.jpg

This was a huge hit with our family.  And it is extremely filling.  We ate it by itself, but it could certainly be paired with an additional veggie to add to it’s heartiness! Even my teenage boys who normally roll their eyes at my Keto creations, ate it and went back for seconds!  Next time, I may have to double the recipe, just so we have some leftovers on hand! We divided the Pot Pie into 6 servings, so macros below are calculated off of 6 pieces, with a serving size being one piece!

Macros: Calories: 411, Fat: 27.4 g, Total Carbs: 9.5 g, Net Carbs: 7.7 g, Protein: 32 g

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

